FALMOUTH Town began the new South West Peninsula League season with a hard-fought goalless draw at home to Mousehole.

Both sides played good football and enjoyed good chances, but had to settle for a point apiece with neither able to find their way through.

Ryan Martt came close early on in what was a quiet first half for the hosts, with the midfielder's right-wing cross almost creeping in at the far post.

The newly-promoted Seagulls had a couple of big chances, with Kieran Toland's shot being blocked for a corner, from which a shot flew narrowly wide at the back post.

Falmouth Packet:

Lez Cela passed up a brilliant chance after turning his man and working space to shoot but his effort was saved by Town debutant Steve Parker-Billinge, before Joe Cooper narrowly headed wide from Luke Johnson's long throw at the other end.

Parker-Billinge was busy early on in the second half, twice having to make smart reaction saves to keep the visitors at bay.

Cela was guilty of another missed opportunity after the break when he drove a powerful shot into the side netting, before Matt Buchan was just about beaten to the ball by visiting goalkeeper Cory Harvey, who raced out of his box to clear a menacing through ball.

Falmouth Packet:

The intensity increased again in the final 15 minutes. Martt missed a golden chance when he hooked a free-kick over the crossbar inside the box before David Broglino forced a flying save out of Cory Harvey with a shot from distance, while Amara Bakayoko curled nches wide of the bottom corner for the Seagulls.

The final big chance of the game fell to Buchan five minutes from time, who found himself clean through on goal but could not plant his effort past Harvey.

Falmouth: S Parker-Billinge, D Blizzard (M Duff 68), O Moody (J Webber HT), R Martt, J Cooper, B Oliver, L Johnson(L Brabyn 51), D Broglino, M Buchan, T Nixon, O Walker. Subs (unused): A Westgarth, J Bowyer.

Mousehole: C Harvey, B Curtis, P Sousa, M Richards, B Harding, S Burt, L Corner (G James 56), L Cela, K Toland, A Bakayoko, R Mitchell (S Ziboth 82). Subs (unused): B Williams, T Tonkin, J Devine.

Falmouth Packet: