Mawnan Football Club brought the curtain down on an excellent season with the staging of their end-of-season presentation evening at the Falmouth Golf Club, writes Leon Prynn.

The star of the evening was the Kernow Stone St Piran Football League’s division one championship trophy which was won by the first team just a few days earlier.

Manager Wayne Hughes congratulated the players on their achievement and said they enjoyed a remarkable league campaign after losing their first match and drawing their second in August and then losing just once more before the end of the season.

Chairman Gregg Renfree congratulated the manager and the team on their success as well as paying tribute to all those who had helped to make the season so enjoyable.

He also referred to the challenges that the players of both teams faced whilst the rebuilding of the changing rooms and kitchen took place. “I referred to to the possibility of the changing rooms possibly being rebuilt at last season’s presentation night and here we are 12 months later and we are now in possession of excellent facilities.”

Paul Webb, the 2nd XI manager, said the reserve team had a much better season than the previous campaign and had finished much higher despite suffering an extraordinary injury crisis.

The presentation of trophies saw Mr Renfree comment on a new cup that was donated by parents Jeanette and George Grant in memory of former player and manager Ian Grant who died in tragic circumstances just before Christmas. Mr Renfree added: “We wanted this cup to be awarded for loyalty to the club which is what Ian would have highly approved of and will be a much coveted award in the years to come”.

The John Christophers clubman of the year cup was awarded to Kevin Bate and the Ron Sara cup Ist XI player’s player of the year was Harry McMellon. Ben Richardson won the manager’s player of the season trophy.

The player who won most accolades was 2nd XI goalkeeper Dan Caunter who collected the Stan Jackson players’ player of the year trophy and the W C Rowe young player of the year cup. The manager’s player of the year was Seb Hennessy.

The Dickie Robertson memorial trophy was won jointly by Josh Winnan and Pete Cortis for their excellent work on the changing rooms refurbishment.