Cornwall, who face Hertfordshire at Hertford RFC on Saturday, 2pm kick-off, show one change to the starting line-up that saw off Gloucestershire, 23-16, last weekend in their opening RFU Bill Beaumont Cup Div.1 clash at Redruth.

The late withdrawal, through injury, of Truro born London Scottish player Ryan Westren means that Launceston centre Jake Murphy is promoted from the bench to line-up alongside his club mate Lewis Paterson with Cornish Pirates Rhodri McAtee added to the substitutes bench.

While Cornwall blasted out of the blocks with that excellent defeat of Gloucestershire last Saturday they know, full well, that they face a tough afternoon ahead playing away from home and against a team that beat them 25-18 in the Duchy last season.

But last Saturday’s opening win, the first over Gloucestershire for five seasons, has put a spring into their step especially amongst the forwards.

“I was pleased with our performance against Gloucestershire, we were up against a much bigger pack and our forwards played very well,” says Cornwall’s revered Head Coach Dave `Benji’ Thomas, a veteran of almost 25 years in all, preparing the side.

And, while they did lose to Hertfordshire in 2011, he points out: “Last season we had no players from Launceston available to us because of league commitments so we are much more at full-strength this year.”

However, he readily admits, it’s going to take a mighty effort from his squad to get the better of a very experienced Hertfordshire side on their own patch.

“They are a pretty powerful outfit and have a number of Saracens and Old Albanian players in the side,” he concedes. “However we are not going to be overawed, we’ve got a job to do, we’ve trained hard this week and we’re looking for a result on Saturday.

“We’ll certainly go there and give it our best shot.”

Cornwall: Brett Rule (Redruth); Richard Bright (Launceston), Jake Murphy (Launceston), Lewis Paterson (Launceston), Steve Johns (Plymouth Albion); Lewis Webb (Launceston), Craig Goodfellow (Redruth); Darren Jacques (Redruth), Jamie Salter (Launceston), Craig Williams (Redruth); Ben Hillton (Launceston - c), Bryn Jenkins (Cambridge); Mike Rawlings (Launceston), Tom Rawlings (Launceston), Sam Hocking (Plymouth Albion). Reps: David Pascoe (Penryn), A.N. Other, Tom Duncan (Redruth), Rhodri McAtee (Cornish Pirates), Peter Joyce (Redruth), Richard Brown (Redruth), Chris Fuca (Redruth).