The 114th Annual General Meeting of the Cornwall County Cricket Club has been held Grampound Road CC. The Officers were all re-elected unopposed with the captain Matt Robins due to serve a fourth term.

Members stood to remember the lives of long serving committee member ‘Charlie’ Lovell and another former Colts Secretary, and MCCA Umpire, Peter Kingston-Davey.

Also remembered were former players Maurice Weeks and Julian Cradick. Additionally respect was paid to Devon CCC Officer, MCCA Secretary and a good friend of the county Geoff Evans, who passed away in September.

In presenting the committee report on the 2016 season Club Chairman Michael Williams reflected on a good season that saw runners up spot gained in the Unicorns Counties Championship.

The county had led the table for much of the campaign but drew a rain affected game against the eventual champions Berkshire before losing to Devon in the final round. In the defence of the Unicorns KO Trophy impressive wins were gained over Devon and Oxfordshire.

Progress to the knock out stages was denied thanks to a narrow defeat at North Perrott against Dorset and a wash out against Berkshire at Truro.

Greg Smith made 350 championship runs at an average of 58.33 and professional Brad Wadlan 436 runs at 48.44. Centuries were hit by Wadlan (191 & 116) and Smith (138). The 121 partnership by Wadlan and Andrew Libby against Oxfordshire was a ninth wicket Cornish record.

Having been recalled after four years Libby won the Canynge Caple Cup for the outstanding player. He took 30 wickets (seventh in the country) at 20.93 and was also capped. Greg Smith took 20 wickets at 26.45. A total of 20 players played in the championship with debuts by Greg Smith, Liam Redrup, Conor Miles and Alex Ridd.

In his financial report Treasurer Keith Hore reported that the £6,000 loss on the previous season had been turned into a surplus of £897. He thanked the sponsors Conway Bailey Transport and accountants Lang Bennetts for their continued support, which were greatly appreciated.

The President, Col Ronnie Potts, presented the Arthur Lugg Cup for outstanding services to former captain Tom Sharp. The Caerhays Cup, for the highest partnership of the season, was won by Brad Wadlan and Paul Smith for their stand of 150 against Oxfordshire.

The Donald Cocks Cup for fielding went to Andrew Libby. The Canynge Caple Colts Cup was won by Alex Ridd and the Ron Tither Memorial Cup for Under 21 bowling was won by Harry Bolland.

Elections: President - Col R W Potts TD, JP, DL; Chairman – JM Williams, FRICS, DL; Hon. Secretary - Mrs Anita George MBE, JP; Hon Treasurer – RK Hore JP; Captain – ML Robins; Team Sec / Manager - GR Furse; Under 21's Manager – S Hooper. Over 50’s Representative – T Lee. Women’s County Manager – S Nicholls.

Fixtures 2017

In the Unicorns Knock Out Trophy Cornwall start with a trip to Banbury to play Oxfordshire on Sunday 23 April. They have a bye on the May Bank Holiday weekend before hosting Dorset at Grampound Road. Wokingham will be a new venue for Cornwall where they take on Berkshire before the cross Tamar derby with Devon at Werrington.

In the Championship there is a tough start with a visit to champions Berkshire. The game is at Wargrave, who’ve only previously hosted three championship games. The last of which was way back in 1925, when Cornwall were the visitors. Henley-on Thames, who traditionally host Berkshire’s opening home game, asked for a break this year. Wargrave CC offered their services, having hosted a couple of Unicorns Trophy games in recent years.

A first trip to Nantwich in nine years follows to take on Cheshire. Three successive home games are then scheduled with Wales Minor Counties at Truro and Shropshire at St Austell before Herefordshire visit Penzance. St Clare will be hosting a county game for the first time since 2001. The season ends against Dorset at North Perrott.

On Sunday 25 June, in an initiative with Cornwall Cricket Board, Cornwall, Devon and Somerset will compete in a T20 Challenge day at Truro.

Cornwall County Cricket Club Fixtures 2017

Unicorns KO Trophy (Group 1)

Sun 23 April Oxfordshire Banbury

Sun 7 May Dorset Grampound Road

Sun 14 May Berkshire Wokingham

Sun 21 May Devon Werrington

Sun 11 June Quarter Finals

Sun 9 July Semi Finals

Wed 23 Aug Final (Res 24 Aug) Wormsley

Unicorns Counties Championship (Western Section) (11am)

4 – 6 June Berkshire Wargrave

18 – 20 June Cheshire Nantwich

2 – 4 July Wales MC Truro

16 – 18 July Shropshire St Austell

30 July – 1 August Herefordshire Penzance

13 – 15 August Dorset North Perrott

27– 30 August Final

T20 Challenge

Sun 25 June Devon & Somerset Truro