Four clubs in County Division One of the LWC Drinks Cornwall Cricket League are subject to relegation for breaches of a league rule.

They are Ludgvan, Rosudgeon, St Minver and Troon.

In January 2014 a vote by all clubs at the CCL Annual General Meeting determined, by a clear majority, that ECB Clubmark accreditation should also apply to County Division One along with a requirement of at least one team playing youth cricket fixtures.

ECB Clubmark shows that a club is sustainable, well run and provides the right environment for its members.

It was voted by the majority of all clubs that these requirements be in place for the start of the 2016 season, otherwise clubs would be ineligible to play in that division.

Accreditation lasts for three years, at which point the club will complete a re-accreditation exercise. In the intervening two years there is a requirement to complete an annual health check to maintain accreditation. Currently thirty-one Cornwall League clubs are accredited.

* Ludgvan CC, in a meeting with the League during the season, had already agreed to start the Clubmark process and adhere to an agreed autumn timetable; otherwise they would accept relegation for 2018. This process has not been started as agreed, however and, additionally the club has not been running any youth cricket teams for several years.

* Rosudgeon CC have completed their annual Clubmark Health Check in 2017 but not been running a youth cricket team, playing a minimum of four fixtures, for two consecutive seasons.

* Troon CC have completed their annual Clubmark Health Check in 2017 but not been running a youth cricket team for at least three years. Upon entry to Division One the requirement to do so during the 2017 season was not met.

* St Minver CC accept they have not started Clubmark application in time to be accredited for 2018. Following a change of club management during 2017, they have now stated they intend to do so at the earliest opportunity. They have run youth cricket for a number of years.

The Youth Cricket requirement for County Division One is at least one team (U17 to U9, boys or girls), playing inter-club competitive matches. The team must have played or received by concession, a minimum of four fixtures. A festival day counts as one fixture.

The League has subsequently extended the Clubmark deadline by a further two years and the youth team stipulation by one year, having been reluctant to impose the rules, thus giving clubs an extended period to comply.

During the 2017 season there have been increasing concerns following the unprecedented events of two games in County One being conceded due to a shortage of players; also, the unsatisfactory situation of a number of games at this level being played with short sided teams.

At their annual meeting with Premier & County One clubs in September the League asked clubs if Rule 42, as it affects County One, should now be rescinded as four clubs were in breach of the revised timeline that applies specifically to the 2018 season.

The consensus of clubs was firmly of the view however that the League should immediately enforce Rule 42 in its entirety, to ensure that County 1 contains clubs that are strong administratively, with an active youth section and an effective player pathway. Ludgvan and Rosudgeon CC’s opted not to attend this meeting.

Under League Rule 39.5 all clubs have a right of appeal to the Cornwall Cricket Board.